Hollywood exacta

The Los Angeles Country Club selected to host 2032 U.S. Women’s Open and 2039 U.S. Open.

Courtesy of USGA

The USGA announced that The Los Angeles Country Club will host the 2032 U.S. Women’s Open Presented by ProMedica and 2039 U.S. Open Championships. The club has previously hosted three USGA championships, most recently the 2017 Walker Cup Match, and will stage the 123rd U.S. Open next June.

“We could not be more excited to bring our two biggest national championships to The Los Angeles Country Club and extend our relationship with the club that dates back more than 90 years,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA chief championships officer. “This is a tremendous sports town, an enthusiastic golf community and home to a great venue for championship golf. We’re very much looking forward to next year’s U.S. Open and thrilled to be returning twice more in the future.”

Situated on the edge of Beverly Hills and established in 1897, The Los Angeles Country Club spans 320 acres and features two 18-hole courses overlooked by nearby cityscape. A 2010 restoration project led by Gil Hanse returned the club’s famed North Course, where the Opens will be contested, to its original George C. Thomas Jr. design.

“With the countdown to next year’s U.S. Open underway, we are excited to welcome the USGA back to The Los Angeles Country Club for not only another U.S. Open in 2039 but also the U.S. Women’s Open in 2032,” said Dick Shortz and John Chulick, co-chairs of LACC’s U.S. Open Committee. “The Los Angeles community embraces major sporting events, and our membership is honored to host the game’s best women and men on our iconic North Course in the years to come.”

The North Course has hosted three USGA championships, starting with the 1930 U.S. Women’s Amateur, when Glenna Collett Vare captured the fifth of her record six titles. In 1954, Foster Bradley Jr. defeated Al Geiberger to claim the U.S. Amateur title, and most recently, it was the site of the 2017 Walker Cup Match, which was claimed decisively by the United States, 19-7. The North Course also hosted the Los Angeles Open, now the Genesis Invitational, five times between 1926 and 1940.

In June, The Los Angeles Country Club will become just the third U.S. Open venue in Southern California, joining The Riviera Country Club in nearby Pacific Palisades (1948) and Torrey Pines Golf Course in San Diego (2008, 2021). The 87th playing of the U.S. Women’s Open will mark the third time the championship will be played in Southern California after San Diego Country Club in Chula Vista hosted the event in 1964, when the legendary Mickey Wright earned the last of her four victories, and The Riviera Country Club is scheduled to host in 2026.

Earlier this year, Australian Minjee Lee claimed the U.S. Women’s Open title with a record-setting four-stroke victory at Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club in Southern Pines, North Carolina, joining a Hall-of-Fame group of players to have won both the U.S. Girls’ Junior and U.S. Women’s Open. Matt Fitzpatrick hoisted the U.S. Open Trophy in June after completing a one-stroke victory at The Country Club in Brookline, Massachusetts, where he also triumphed in the U.S. Amateur nine years prior. The Englishman joined 18-time major champion Jack Nicklaus as the only golfers to have won the USGA’s two oldest championships at the same venue.

 U.S. Open Future Sites

2023, 2039: The Los Angeles Country Club, Los Angeles, California

2024, 2029, 2035, 2041, 2047: Pinehurst Resort & Country Club Village of Pinehurst, North Carolina

2025, 2033, 2042, 2049: Oakmont Country Club Oakmont, Pennsylvania

2026: Shinnecock Hills Golf Club, Southampton, New York

2027, 2032, 2037, 2044: Pebble Beach Golf Links, Pebble Beach, California

2030, 2050: Merion Golf Club, Ardmore, Pennsylvania

2034, 2051: Oakland Hills Country Club  Bloomfield Hills, Michigan


U.S. Women's Open Presented by ProMedica Future Sites

2023, 2035, 2040, 2048: Pebble Beach Golf Links, Pebble Beach, California

2024: Lancaster Country Club, Lancaster, Pennsylvania

2025: Erin Hills, Erin, Wisconsin

2026: The Riviera Country Club, Pacific Palisades, Calif.

2027: Inverness Club, Toledo, Ohio

2028, 2038: Oakmont Country Club, Oakmont, Pennsylvania

2029: Pinehurst Resort & Country Club, Village of Pinehurst, North Carolina

2030: Interlachen Country Club, Edina, Minnesota

2031, 2042: Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

2032: The Los Angeles Country Club, Los Angeles, California

2034, 2046: Merion Golf Club, Ardmore, Pennsylvania

Share This Content