Nominations for #GCITweetUp17 are open

Nominations for #GCITweetUp17 are open

GCI, Aquatrols honoring industry’s best social media efforts for sixth straight year.

November 28, 2016
Check your social media feeds. Remember the tweets, posts and videos that made you pause. It's time to celebrate the industry’s best social media performances – again.

Nominations for the Super Social Media Awards presented by GCI and Aquatrols are open from Monday, Nov. 28 to Saturday, Dec. 31. Winners of the awards, which recognize individuals and organizations who do the best job of using social media to communicate about programs, practices and the industry at large, will be honored during the sixth annual TweetUp at 3 p.m. Wednesday, Feb. 8 at Aquatrols Booth #2559 at the 2017 Golf Industry Show in Orlando. The event, which will include a happy hour with beverages and live music beginning at 2 p.m., can be followed by using #GCITweetUp17 on Twitter.

Industry professionals will be honored in five categories: Best Overall Use of Social Media, Best Twitter Feed, Best Blog, Best Use of Video and John Kaminski Award for Leadership in Social Media. No more than two recipients will be selected in each category. Winners will be announced in January and recipients will receive their awards at #GCITweetUp17.

“Effective use of social media is helping thousands of superintendents and others in our business better perform their jobs and clearly communicate important messages to stakeholders and colleagues,” GCI publisher Pat Jones said. “It’s an honor to celebrate this form of communication for a sixth straight year and hopefully the work of our past and future award winners inspires even more superintendents to explore the benefits of using social media.”   

Judging will be conducted by the GCI editorial staff and a panel of industry experts and educators. Readers are encouraged to nominate others or nominate themselves. Multiple nominations in the same or different categories are acceptable. Please include the category and appropriate links to associate editor Guy Cipriano at or @GCIMagazineGuy. Email, tweet or call Cipriano at 216-393-0230 with questions.


Kaminski Award – Paul Carter, The Bear Trace at Harrison Bay, Harrison, Tenn.
Best Overall Use of Social Media – Rick Tegtmeier, Des Moines Golf and Country Club, West Des Moines, Iowa; Joe Wachter, Glen Echo Country Club, St. Louis, Mo.
Best Twitter Feed – Eric Bauer, Bluejack National, Montgomery, Texas; Paul Koch, University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.; Patrick Reinhardt, Georgia Southern University Golf Course, Statesboro, Ga.
Best Blog – Joel Kachmarek, Tacoma Country & Golf Club, Lakewood, Wash.; Brad Novotny, Hillendale Country Club, Phoenix, Md.
Best Video – Graeme Roberts, Camberley Heath Golf Club, Surrey, United Kingdom
Megaphone Award for Outstanding Advocacy – Mike Huck, Irrigation and Turfgrass Services, Orange County, Calif.

Kaminski Award – Steve Cook, Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.
Best Overall Use of Social Media – Matthew Wharton, Carolina Golf Club, Charlotte, N.C.; Pat O’Brien, Hyde Park Golf and Country Club, Cincinnati, Ohio
Best Twitter Feed – Scot Dey, Mission Viejo Country Club, Mission Viejo, Calif; Kevin Hicks, Coeur d’Alene Resort Golf Club, Coeur D’Alene, Idaho; Jason Hooper, Quilchena, Golf & Country Club, Richmond, B.C.
Best Blog – Joey Franco, Brookstone Golf & Country Club, Acworth, Ga.; Adam Garr, Plum Hollow Country Club, Southfield, Mich.
Best Video – Georgia GCSA, “Stewards of the Land”

Kaminski Award – Micah Woods, Asian Turfgrass Center
Overall Social Media Program – Nick Christians, Iowa State University; Adam Ikamas, MiGCSA
Best Use of Facebook – Gary Grigg, Idaho/Florida; Jason Chennault, Turfgrass World
Best Blog – Jason Haines, Pender Harbour Golf Club, Madeira Park, BC; Jason VanBuskirk, Stow Acres Country Club, Stow, Mass.; Tom Vlach, TPC Sawgrass
Best Use of Twitter –  Randy Samoff, Champions Golf Club, Houston Texas; Ellie Parry, TurfJobs, Loughborough, U.K.; Justin VanLanduit, Briarwood Country Club, Deerfield, Ill.; Cale Bigelow, Purdue University
Best Multimedia – Adam Garr, Plum Hollow Country Club, Southfield, Mich.; Rick Brandenburg, North Carolina State

Kaminski Award – Bill Brown, Hartefeld National Golf Club, Avondale, Pa.
Outstanding Blogger – Andrew Hardy, Pheasant Run Golf Course, Sharon, Ontario; Dan Meersman, Philadelphia Cricket Club; Brian Boyer, Cinnabar Hills Golf Club, San Jose, Calif.
Outstanding Use of Twitter – Chris Tritabaugh, Hazeltine National Golf Club, Chaska, Minn.; Matt Gourlay, Colbert Hills Golf Course, Manhattan, Kan.
Special achievement in video/other – PACE Turf LLC, San Diego, Calif., PACE Turf YouTube Videos; Steve Biehl, Naperville Country Club, Naperville, Ill., GCM Blogging World

Kaminski Award  Darren Davis, Olde Florida Golf Club, Naples, Fla.
Best of Blogs – Chris Tritabaugh, Northland Country Club, Duluth, Minn.; Steve Cook, Oakland Hills Country Club, Bloomfield Hills, Mich.; Bill Brown, Hartefeld National Golf Club, Avondale, Pa.
Innovative Use of Twitter – Greg Shaffer, Elcona Country Club, Bristol, Ind.; David Phipps, Stone Creek Country Club, Oregon City, Ore.
Excellence in Video – Justin Ruiz, Indian Summer Golf &Country Club, Olympia, Wash.