Bayer Adds to Rich History of Musser Award Winners

Growing contingent of renowned Bayer scientists continue advancing turfgrass management through ongoing research and innovation

March 12, 2018
Supplier News


Environmental Science, a business unit of the Crop Science division of Bayer, is honored to recognize four Bayer scientists who have now received the prestigious Musser International Turfgrass Foundation Award of Excellence.

Patrick Burgess, Ph.D., the 2018 inductee, joins three Bayer scientists as fellow recipients of the Musser Award: James Rutledge, Ph.D., (2010), Robert Golembiewski, Ph.D., (1997) and Zachary Reicher, Ph.D. (1992). The annual award is presented to an outstanding doctoral student of turfgrass science who has made significant and innovative contributions to turfgrass science research. 

“To continue the legacy of Professor Musser alongside my peers and colleagues who have received this award in previous years is an honor,” said Dr. Burgess. “I’m grateful to continue my passion for turfgrass science at Bayer, where I’m focused on new product and concept development for our customers and the industry as a whole.”

Bayer has a long history of investing in turfgrass research to help advance the Green industry and its professionals. Most recently, Bayer research has led to development break-throughs in novel technologies ranging from innovations in nematode management to improvements in product retention for more effective foliar disease control. In addition to turfgrass research, Bayer manages several ongoing pollinator health efforts, including a multi-year, million-dollar research initiative dedicated to improving the health of honey bee colonies.

“We are honored to have four recipients of the prestigious Musser Award at Bayer,” said Mark Schneid, Head of Environmental Science North America. “Through their ongoing research and dedication to innovation, each of these individuals has played a critical role in on our mission of leveraging scientific innovation to build a better life, not only for our customers, but also for all enjoy and benefit from heathy green spaces.”

Since its inception in 1989, the Musser International Turfgrass Foundation Award of Excellence has recognized four current Bayer employees for their significant contributions through their doctoral research:

  • Patrick Burgess, Ph.D., Northeast Field Development Representative, was honored in 2018 for his work at Rutgers University. His dissertation was focused on “Physiological and biochemical factors associated with drought tolerance of creeping bentgrass.” 

  • James Rutledge, Ph.D., Product Development Manager for Herbicides, was honored in 2010 for his graduate work at Purdue University, while drafting his dissertation on “Physiology and growth response of roughstalk bluegrass and creeping bentgrass to high temperature stress.”

  • Robert Golembiewski, Ph.D., Bayer Green Solutions Team Specialist, was honored in 1997 for his graduate work at Ohio State University. His dissertation was titled “Identification and characterization of creeping bentgrass using randomly amplified polymorphic DNA.”

  • Zachary Reicher, Ph.D., Bayer Green Solutions Team Specialist, was honored in 1992 for his graduate work at Purdue University, and his dissertation focused on “Non-target effects of fungicides on creeping bentgrass.”

For more information about the Musser Award, and past recipients, visit Learn more about Bayer Environmental Science at